Life Compass
Keeping You Pointed in the Right Direction

OWN IT – DON’T GET OWNED

DJ MARTY Yes, it’s been awhile since I have posted here. As a full time Associate Pastor, Christian School Administrator, Daily Radio Talk Show Host, and Producer and host of 2 other radio shows as well as coaching High School basketball ALONG WITH being a husband and father of 4 teenagers … it gets crazy busy. But I love it. In fact, I thrive on it.

As I watch the President try to nibble on a humble pie he just needs to eat, it becomes a painful reminder of my own sins and failures. He’s tried to say he didn’t what he said -which was: You Can Keep It, PERIOD! Sorry Mr President, YOU, said it. OWN IT! Right now you are getting owned by the GOP, Tea Party, Conservative Media and EVEN the mainstream press. Members of your own party are jumping ship. When Bill Clinton scolds a sitting Democratic President … you’re getting owned!

4 years ago I had to own my own sinful, prideful behavior and actions. I hated choking down every piece of that humiliating pie but I also loved it at the same time. Why? Jesus said, “Whom the Son sets free is free indeed.” What is the key to freedom? TRUTH! The truth is painful but liberating. The truth removes ownership from the acusers, the critics, and those who desire to pull you down and keep you there. Try as they might -blog, post, tweet, and text- their venom and self righteousness condemnation … IF you have owned your sin, accepted responsibility, repented, and made right what is within your power to make right then you are free no matter what others may say or do.

There are those who dislike me, my ministry, and what the Lord has done in my life and family. Sorry, but God didn’t give them a vote. I cannot deny past actions nor do I need to be perpetually condemned by them either. I’m free. Why? Because in truth I owned it. Wasn’t easy. Didn’t happen as quickly as it should have. All I accomplished in fighting it was delay His forgiveness, grace, and restoration.

What do you do when you have sinned … errored … failed? OWN IT. LEARN FROM IT. MOVE ON WITH LESSONS LEARNED AND APPLIED TO GIVE YOU GREATER SUCCESS IN THE FUTURE!

I’m Pastor Marty

http://www.martybraemer.com TWITTER @MARTYBRAEMER

