Life Compass
Keeping You Pointed in the Right Direction

HURRICANE CHRISTIE HITS TAMPA!

Well, the GOP convention dodged Isaac but not Governor Chris Christie from New Jersey. The straight shooting, take no prisoners certified political rock star rocked the RNC on Tuesday night!

After Ann Romney introduced herself to the women of America and shared her love for husband & family and their love for country … Christie went in a different direction. Respect over love.

This displaced Yankee LOVED the RESPECT Speech!

Ann Romney and the governor hit on one aspect of the same theme – the power of women. Christie shared his mom’s story:

I am the son of an Irish father and a Sicilian mother. My Dad, who I am blessed to have with me here tonight, is gregarious, outgoing and loveable. My Mom, who I lost 8 years ago, was the enforcer. She made sure we all knew who set the rules. In the automobile of life, Dad was just a passenger. Mom was the driver.

Mom also came from nothing. She was raised by a single mother who took three buses to get to work every day. And mom spent the time she was supposed to be a kid actually raising children – her two younger siblings. She was tough as nails and didn’t suffer fools at all. The truth was she couldn’t afford to. She spoke the truth – bluntly, directly and without much varnish.

I am her son (wild cheers)!

Personally, the line of the night -the eye of Hurricane Christie’s storm- was this:

The greatest lesson Mom ever taught me, though, was this one: she told me there would be times in your life when you have to choose between being loved and being respected. She said to always pick being respected, that love without respect was always fleeting — but that respect could grow into real, lasting love.

This line becomes the bridge for the Romney-Ryan ticket to bring America across. Christie was telling the voters … you may not love Romney but respect what he has done and accomplished and know that even if you don’t like all of his ideas or solutions –AT LEAST HE HAS SOME! The Governor was telling America … put the children out to play (Team Obama) … the adults (GOP) have shown up to clean up. It won’t be easy. BUT when they’re done … YOU’LL LOVE IT!

I loved the speech. I agree with the sentiment. It took me back to New York…

