Life Compass
Keeping You Pointed in the Right Direction

I Miss Fall

I hate winter in snow country. Why? Live there for a few years then ask that question again. I lived most of my life in upstate New York. I spent four years in the midwest and then back to new York. One thing those two regions have in common: SNOW!

I do not miss snow. I do not miss sleet, freezing rain, or temps below zero and wind chill factors that burn exposed skin.

That’s why I LOVE Florida.

I love walking around outside in shirt sleeves in January and February. I love swimming in November. I love watching baseball at our local park in February. I LOVE Florida.

But I do miss Fall in upstate new York. 

I miss trees turning colors of blazing red, firey orange, and gold. I miss picking fresh apples off the tree in our backyard. I miss the smell of pumpkin pie baking in the oven. I miss the comfortable days and crisp nights. Going to HS football and soccer games here in September and October when it’s 90 degrees isn’t football weather for me. I want to wear a football jacket and hat while sipping hot chocolate under my lap blanket as I yell for my team with my breath visible as the night grows colder.

I miss piles of leaves and kids jumping in them. I miss going to the old mill by the stream next to the 19th century covered bridge to get fresh pressed cider and cider donuts. I miss coming in from a cool afternoon into the warmth of a house where a slice of homemade apple pie with a scoop of handmade vanilla ice cream was waiting.

70 degree days and 50 degree nights. That’s fall. As a boy Fall meant hunting squirrels with my dad and going back to school. I miss Fall.

I don’t miss the winter that followed and I dreaded losing the summer that was ending but Fall meant the cycle would be complete and in the Spring it would be begin again … new and fresh. I miss Fall.

